Sending work to print.

Today I have sent my work to print so that I can have the time to physically manipulate the work for the final exhibition work. These will be one off unique pieces so they will be seen by the examiner on Tuesday 11th June. It’s imperative that I get the perfect.

With this in mind, I needed to get them sent off to a printer that would be able to print my photographs on A2 as they would then have to be cut down to correct size. This proved difficult cost wise and quality wise at first. Anything A2 and above all seemed to be classed as poster and therefore the paper quality was reduced. However, I did go back to DSCL to see their new rang of high quality fine art papers.  I thought about the situation and thought no expenses should be thought about at this  stage and I should pay what was needed for my final degree work. With that in mind, I chose a fine art paper at 285 gsm. It was classed as portrait white which had a brighter white finish on it. This then complimented skin tones, which was the perfect description for my work! In total they cost me over £80, so there’s no room to mess up now.

Leave a comment